2. What is "B" visitor visa classification? How do I recognize it?

"B" visitor covers all of the following classifications. Any one of theses classifications or a combination, as indicated, can qualify for honorarium payments and reimbursements.

  • B-1 visitor for business.
  • B-2 visitor for pleasure.
  • B-1/B-2 visitor for a combined purpose.
  • WB visitor visa waiver for business.
  • WT visitor visa waiver for tourism.
  • WB/WT visitor visa waiver for a combined purpose.

One of these notations must appear on the Form I-94, Arrival/Departure Record, the small card that is normally stapled into the passport. The I-94 for B-1, B-2 is white; the I-94 for WB, WT is green. The WB or WT allows persons from certain countries to enter the United States without getting a visa stamp in the passport. Note that the key document is the I-94, not the visa stamp in the passport. Departments must see and copy the I-94 while the guest is in the United States. The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) collects the I-94 at departure and it cannot be retrieved or recreated once the guest has left the United States.

It is the failure to copy the I-94 that causes most of the difficulty in making payments and reimbursements to these guests.

Note: New Visa Waiver Program Passport Requirements as of October, 2005. The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) reminds visitors that Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries will be required to produce passports with digital photographs by October 26, 2005 . Visitors with valid machine-readable passports issued prior to October 26, 2005 , may continue to travel without a visa under the Visa Waiver Program. Passports issued on or after October 26, 2005 require the digital photo. Visitors who are issued a passport after the October 26, 2005 deadline that does not meet these requirements will be required to obtain a visa stamp in order to travel to the United States . For more information on Visa Waiver Program Passport Requirements, please review the Homeland Security website.

Note: ESTA Requirement for VWP Travelers Effective January 20th DHS announced that the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) for Visa Waiver Program (VWP) travelers went into effect as of January 20, 2011. VWP travelers who have not obtained approval through ESTA will be denied boarding on any air carrier bound for the United States. ESTA is an automated system that is utilized to determine a visitors’ eligibility to travel to the U.S. under the VWP. It collects the same information as the paper I-94W form. An ESTA authorization is generally valid for up to two years and for multiple entries into the U.S. Effective September 8, 2010, all ESTA registration applications or renewals required a $14.00 payment by credit or debit card. For more information, please review Homeland Security's ESTA webpage.